History of RSM and TAMV

About Rashtriya Shikshan Mandal, Pune
Rashtriya Shikshan Mandal was established in the freedom struggle in 1924. It was established for Swadeshi Shikshan by the then freedom fighters Vaidya Purushottamshashtri Nanal, Dr.B.C. Lagoo and Shri.N.C. Kelkar. It was established with inspiration from Lokmanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak.
After the establishment of Rashtriya Shikshan Mandal, a charitable hospital to serve the poor and needy people was established in the year 1926. It was named after the donor as ‘Seth Tarachand Ramnath Charitable Ayurvedic Hospital’.
After successfully running the hospital for 7 years, Ayurved Mahavidyalaya was established in the year 1933 to impart Swadeshi Shikshan.
About Tilak Ayurved Mahavidyalaya, Pune
The first and the oldest ‘AYURVEDA MAHAVIDYALAYA’ in Pune was established on 26th June 1933 by Rashtriya Shikshan Mandal. It was renamed as ‘Tilak Ayurveda Mahavidyalaya’ in 1962 at the hands of the then Hon Chief Minister Shri. Yashvantrao Chavan.
Tilak Ayurved Mahavidyalaya, holds 89 years of heritage contributing in creating eminent Doctors for the society. Hitherto, approximately 8000 students of UG and 1300 students of PG courses have completed their education from this Institute and are successfully working in various fields. This is a Maharashtra state government aided institution and affiliated to Maharashtra University of Health Sciences, Nashik. It is recognized by The Ministry of AYUSH, New Delhi and National Commision for Indian Systems of Medicine (NCISM), New Delhi Tilak Ayurved Mahavidyalaya has an intake capacity of 125 students at UG -B.A.M.S Course every year. It has an intake capacity of 57 students for M.D/M.S courses in Ayurved in 14 specialties as follows:

Ayurved 14 Specialties As Follows

Sr No. Name No.of Seats
01 Ayurved Samhita and Siddhanta 03 seats
02 Rachana Sharir 05 seats
03 Kriya Sharir 04 seats
04 seats Dravyaguna 03 seats
05 Rasashastra and Bhaishajya Kalpana 05 seats
06 Rognidan 04 seats
07 Swasthavritta and Yoga 02 seats
08 Agadtantra 04 seats
09 Prasuti and Stri Roga 04 seats
10 Kaumarbhritya 02 seats
11 Kayachikitsa 06 seats
12 Shalyatantra 07 seats
13 Shalakyatantra- 04 seats
14 Panchakarma 04 seats
The college also conducts Ph.D course affiliated to Maharashtra University of Health Sciences, Nashik in all the above 14 specialities of Ayurved.
Tilak Ayurved Mahavidyalaya fulfills all the requirements of Minimum Standard of Infrastructure and Teaching and Training facilities as specified in Regulation 3 of the “Indian Medicine Central Council (Requirements of Minimum Standard for Undergraduate Ayurveda Colleges and Attached Hospitals) Regulation 2016. It also has all the requirements of Indian Medicine Central Council, as per Post Graduate Ayurveda Education, Regulations 2016.
Scroll to Top